My Care Is In Your Hands

I see you
Looking at me
Looking at you
Seeing me for the person
Not the patient my medical files label me as

My care is in your hands
And truly I tell you I seek out for the gentlest of hands
Who choose to handle me with care
And you
You are the customs agent I have been accustomed to
See my box labeled fragile and you take it seriously
Not with pity but with empathy
I see it in the way you look at me
The way you come down to my level
Never standing over
But overstanding my particular needs

And the way in which you carefully fulfill your duty is commendable
Like a soldier on a mission
Like an artist dedicated to their craft
And I
I am your subject
Subjected to being thrown into a system where I can easily find myself
Tossed around in a sea of paper work
Getting sea sick as I lay stranded
I find hope when I swim to your shores
I find comfort in the way you are so sure about who I am
That you sit that extra minute to reassure me that everything is ok
And I am normal
Just in need of some extra TLC

See
I see you
Looking at me
Looking at you
Seeing me for the person
Not the patient my medical files label me as

Not the set of numbers which defines me
Under lab tests which stress my being
So being under your care is like a breath of fresh air
And I
I am gasping
Grasping for every second we spend
And you are more than just a care giver but you are a friend
An ally
Someone who truly understands what it means to carefully
Care for someone who
May or may not care to live
But you still care to give all of you
And nothing sparks my internal and external healing processes like
The hope you induce
Hopefully you hear me when I say that I am truly grateful for all that you do
For all that you see me for, positive potential for a perfect recovery

And that, that is why I see you
Looking at me
Looking at you
Seeing me for the person
Not the patient my medical files label me as
….and I, I thank you for that

more than you will ever know

Leave a Reply

