BIRTHING BLACK DOLLS

February 3rd 2012

12:36am

With the drop of my heart hearing that there was a drop in your heart rate

I let them cut me wide open

Arms spread out on a cold metal table

I let them cut me wide open

I wanted to scream cut me as wide open as you can so there is enough room to ensure every curve was preserved

Wider if you have to so they didn’t mess up a single strand of your hair

Perfectly groomed by God himself

Wider still to make room for long arms already stretching far beyond the barriers they would put in front of you later

And even wider for wide baby hips and thighs

The kind you would need to keep yourself rooted in self pride

Help you walk back to the path after any time you may have lost your way

They didn’t have many black dolls back in my younger days

And all the Barbies I ever got never looked liked me

I wonder if that is why I used to rip their heads off

But I dreamed about owning one someday

A little black doll who looked liked me so when I would play house it would feel real

So that when I would comb her hair I would be gentle because I too knew the complexities found in kinks and curls

So after waiting for nearly 20 years

I decided I could not wait for someone to buy me one

So I birthed her instead

And she was everything I ever dreamed she would be and more

And I felt pride, showing her off because she was a limited edition

One of a kind

collectors item

worth more than anyone could ever offer me for her

And I birthed her

With my womb wide open looking up to the heaven so that God could smile on her as the world welcomed her

My black doll

I birthed her

And to this day I enjoy playing with her

Dress up and strollers

And combing her hair ever so gently because I too know the complexities found in kinks and curls

And reading her stories that remind her she is special,

We are special

Limited edition

One of a kind

Collectors items

Worth more than anyone could ever offer us

Leave a Reply

